Space Centres
and Teleports
Serving Space Agencies

Space agencies are the pioneers and protagonists driving the technology developments required for the satellites and systems designed to meet the economic, scientific and practical challenges facing our planet.

The European Space Agency (ESA) is providing its support to the European Commission in leading the Copernicus Earth-observation programme and the industrial development of Europe’s EGNOS and Galileo satellite navigation systems, and has invested more than €300 million—7% of its budget—in telecommunications and integrated applications.

Telespazio France is actively involved in operating the EGNOS and Galileo programmes—through the ESP and GSOP contracts—on behalf of the European GNSS Agency (GSA) and in providing operational support for the payloads on the Copernicus programme’s Sentinel-1, Sentinel-2 and Sentinel-3 satellites—through the PDGS contract with ESA.

The French space agency CNES is a pioneer in Europe, playing a key role in these European programmes and through the Guiana Space Centre (CSG), as well as in national programmes like the initial TELECOM series of satellites and the SPOT optical Earth-observation satellites, and bilaterally with the United States, Russia, Japan and India, to name a few of its international partners.

As a historic operator of satellite systems tasked with maintaining all associated networks, Telespazio France has been working with CNES for several decades to:

  • Operate technical facilities at the CSG in Kourou
  • Deploy and operate satellite communications links between the CSG and most of the stations in the launcher telemetry and tracking network
  • Maintain the ground station network and provide support for stationkeeping and mission operations for most of the satellites operated by CNES from its Toulouse Space Centre (CST)

"From Europe’s spaceport in Kourou, French Guiana, Telespazio France has been involved in the launch of every Ariane, Soyuz and Vega vehicle."
Jérôme de Bailliencourt, Chief Operations Officer, Telespazio France

Telespazio is the partner of choice supporting the deployment and operation of European space agencies’ systems.

To support the development and operation of these institutional programmes, Telespazio France’s expert software engineers are conceiving data portals—such as ISIS, ngEO, EOLI and THEIA—and associated applications for agencies and research laboratories.

Infrastructure through-life support and operations

Through-life support (TLS) is crucial to assure the safety and availability of space infrastructures. And being able to detect technical anomalies quickly and remedy them effectively is vital.

To meet this strategic need, Telespazio France operates and maintains space infrastructures for its institutional and private customers in France and Europe.

Telespazio France has been working with CNES and Arianespace in France and French Guiana for more than 30 years.

Centre spatial et
base de lancement
Au service des agences spatiales

Les agences spatiales sont les protagonistes essentiels et les pionniers du secteur : elles accompagnent les évolutions technologiques et développent leurs satellites et leurs systèmes, dans le but de mieux répondre aux enjeux économiques, scientifiques et pratiques de notre planète.

C'est ainsi que l’Agence Spatiale Européenne, en support de la Commission Européenne, pilote le programme d’observation de la Terre, Copernicus, le développement industriel des deux systèmes européens de navigation, EGNOS et Galileo, et a investi plus de 300 millions d'euros – soit 7 % de son budget – dans le domaine des télécommunications et des applications intégrées.

Dans ce cadre, Telespazio France participe activement aux opérations des programmes EGNOS (contrat ESP) et Galileo (contrat GSOP) pour le compte de la GSA (Agence du GNSS Européen) ainsi qu’au support opérationnel pour les charges utiles des satellites Sentinel 1, 2 et 3 du programme Copernicus (contrats PDGS pour l'Agence Spatiale Européenne).

Pionnière des agences spatiales en Europe, le CNES (Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales) joue un rôle moteur dans ces programmes européens et dans la mise à disposition du centre spatial en Guyane, mais aussi dans des programmes nationaux (par exemple la famille des premiers satellites TELECOM ou celle des satellites d’observation optique SPOT), ainsi que dans des partenariats bilatéraux avec par exemple les Etats-Unis, la Russie, le Japon ou l’Inde.

Pour le compte du CNES, Telespazio France acteur historique dans l’exploitation des systèmes satellitaires et dans la maintenance des réseaux associés, assure depuis plusieurs décennies 

  • l’exploitation de l’ensemble des moyens techniques de la base spatiale de Kourou
  • la mise en œuvre et l’exploitation des liens de télécoms satellitaires entre le Centre Spatial Guyanais et la plupart des sites de télémesure du réseau lanceur
  • la maintenance du réseau de stations sol, ainsi qu’un support au maintien à poste et à l’exploitation mission de la majorité des satellites opérés par le CNES depuis son centre toulousain

 

« Depuis la base de Kourou, en Guyane française, Telespazio France a ainsi participé à la totalité des lancements de la famille Ariane, de Soyouz et Vega. »

Jérôme de Bailliencourt, Directeur Opérations Telespazio France

 

Telespazio : le partenaire de confiance des agences spatiales européennes dans la mise en œuvre et l’exploitation des systèmes qu’elles opèrent.

En support du développement et de l’exploitation de ces programmes institutionnels, les experts logiciels de Telespazio France développent pour le compte de ces agences ou laboratoires des portails d’accès aux données (portail ISIS, ngEO, EOLI ou du pôle THEIA) ainsi que des applicatifs valorisant celles-ci.

 

Maintien en condition opérationnelle d'infrastructures et exploitation

Le Maintien en Condition Opérationnelle (MCO) représente un enjeu décisif pour assurer la sécurité et la disponibilité des infrastructures spatiales. Il est indispensable de pouvoir détecter rapidement les anomalies techniques et d'être en mesure d’y apporter une correction efficace.

Pour répondre à cette problématique stratégique, Telespazio France réalise l'ensemble des activités d’exploitation et de maintien des infrastructures spatiales de ses clients, qu'ils soient institutionnels ou privés, français ou européens.

Telespazio France est ainsi depuis plus de 30 ans le partenaire du CNES et d’Arianespace, en métropole et en Guyane.